Members

Chair

Professor Brandon Wainwright

Brandon Wainwright

Director, Institute for Molecular Bioscience, University of Queensland
b.wainwright@imb.uq.edu.au
(07) 3346 2110

 


EMBL

Professor Iain Mattaj

Ian Mattaj thumbnail

Professor Mattaj was born in St. Andrews, Scotland. He studied biochemistry at Edinburgh University (UK) and completed his PhD studies at the University of Leeds (UK). Following his PhD, Prof. Mattaj carried out postdoctoral research at the Friedrich Miescher Institute (CH) and then at the Biocentre, University of Basel (CH) before joining EMBL Heidelberg as a Group Leader in 1985.

Professor Mattaj became Coordinator of the Gene Expression Unit at EMBL in 1990 before being promoted to the position of Scientific Director in 1999.  Professor Mattaj was appointed Director General in May 2005.

Dr Silke Schumacher

Silke Schumacher thumbnail

Dr Schumacher studied biology at University of Hamburg (Germany) and completed her PhD studies at the University of Paris (France). Dr Schumacher carried out postdoctoral research at the National Institutes of Health (USA) before joining Merck KGaA as Business Development Manager. From 2001 to 2003 Dr Schumacher was Managing Director of Anadys Pharmaceuticals Europe GmbH. She joined EMBL in 2003 as Cooperation Manager and was appointed Head of International Relations and Communications in 2005.


Universities Australia

Professor Rob Saint

Rob Saint thumbnail

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Flinders University
robert.saint@flinders.edu.au
(08) 8201 2758
 

Professor John Carroll

John Carroll

Head, Biomedical Sciences, Dean, Faculty of Biomedical and Psychological Sciences, Monash University
j.carroll@monash.edu
(03) 9902 4381
 

Professor Sarah Russell

Sarah Russell

Group Leader, Cell Biology Laboratory, Centre for Microphotonics, Swinburne University
srussell@swin.edu.au
(03) 9656 3727


Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes

Professor Andrew Sinclair

Deputy Director, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute
andrew.sinclair@mcri.edu.au
(03) 8341 6424

 

Professor Frank Gannon

Frank Gannon thumbnail

Professor Frank Gannon
Director, QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute
frank.gannon@qimrberghofer.edu.au
(07) 3362 0203


CSIRO

Dr Paul Savage

Paul Savage thumbnail

Research Director (Manufacturing) and
Program Director, Biomedical Manufacturing, CSIRO
Paul.Savage@csiro.au
(03) 9545 2523
 Mob +61 (0) 407 357 776

Dr David Hansen

David Hansen thumbnail

CEO, Australian e-Health Research Centre, Health & Biosecurity, CSIRO
David.Hansen@csiro.au
(07) 3253 3610
Mob +61 419 646 108


Bioplatforms Australia

Andrew Gilbert

Andrew Gilbert headshot

General Manager, Bioplatforms Australia
agilbert@bioplatforms.com
(02) 9850 6201
Mob +61 410 538 648

Back to Committees